Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Will biomes be supported in servers in 0.11.0?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by EvolSoft, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    I was reading a tweet about biomes. I read that they haven't been implemented in PocketMine because they aren't supported by Minecraft PE.
    Will they be supported in MCPE 0.11.0?
  2. Gamecrafter
    Offline

    Gamecrafter Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    978
    Plugins:
    9
    There's already biomes in MCPE 0.10.x. @shoghicp is still working on biomes.
    EvolSoft likes this.
  3. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    Yes but they work only on singleplayer or local multiplayer
  4. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    755
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    Biomes are compatible with multiplayer. They just aren't added into PocketMine yet (because world generation will take a long time to implement, and @shoghicp just hasn't had time yet).
    EvolSoft and PEMapModder like this.
  5. hoyinm14mc
    Offline

    hoyinm14mc Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Posts:
    502
    Plugins:
    9
    Minecraft User:
    hoyinm14mc
    MiNet(which was writen in C++) had beautiful biomes! (iJoshuaHD and I went into the test server and saw it) The world is great and loads very fast!
    IP: 94.23.50.5:19132
    iJoshuaHD likes this.
  6. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,306
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Because MiNET used code from MCPE directly maybe.
    (Yes, I heard that if you have the MCPE shared object library, you could make things that uses MCPE functions directly)
    (Or maybe I'm wrong)
    hoyinm14mc likes this.
  7. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    I think it's fast because it's written in C#. "indirect" languages like PHP, Java are more slow
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2015
    hoyinm14mc likes this.
  8. hoyinm14mc
    Offline

    hoyinm14mc Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Posts:
    502
    Plugins:
    9
    Minecraft User:
    hoyinm14mc
    But C# is a very difficult language! (For me)
  9. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,306
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Java and C# are similar to me.
    PHP itself is written in C* (not sure), Java calls native functions for the API but itself is not written in C*. So, Java is much better than PHP, and its type-strict nature manages memory much better. Also, it seems to me that you can convert Java and C* into each other, but that isn't possible with PHP because of things like types.
    Also, what is "interpreter language"?
  10. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    I mean a language written in another (PHP is written in C) and a language that is not directly executed from the operating system (like Java)
    Look the edited post :)
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2015
    PEMapModder likes this.
  11. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    For me the only difficult language is the Assembly :)
  12. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,306
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    For me, C++ is only difficult with its pointer things.

    Also, modern machines run Java almost as fast as C*. That's why Android apps use Java as the basic entry.
    EvolSoft likes this.
  13. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    Yeah. And Java has more builtin functions and libraries that in C you must code.
    I use C, C++ (both compiled with TurboC) and VBDOS only to make MSDOS/NucleDOS programs and the NucleDOS Command Shell :)
    PEMapModder likes this.
  14. jython234
    Offline

    jython234 Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    324
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    jython234
    MiNet uses Craft.Net which is a C# library for MCPC. I think it may have world generation built in, maybe he modified it for MCPE. As for using MCPE code directly that would solve a lot of problems, but look what happened to bukkit...
    hoyinm14mc and PEMapModder like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement