Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Why do people use PocketMine-MP on Android/iOS?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by Dinokiller, Aug 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dutok
    Offline

    Dutok Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    371
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    Dutok
    1. 4G is not faster than business-class internet.
    2. You don't need to use RCON to control your server..
    3. It's easier to copy plugins to a remote/local server - no adapters, no wires.
  2. Elmo
    Offline

    Elmo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Posts:
    65
    Minecraft User:
    optrusty
    I said 4G XLTE and 4G LTE
  3. Dutok
    Offline

    Dutok Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    371
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    Dutok
    4G (X)LTE is not faster than business-class internet..
    LDX likes this.
  4. MTXRooster
    Offline

    MTXRooster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    MTXRooster
    Not everyone who uses this project is looking to get 100 people on a server. Many want it for the plugin/customization abilities. Having it on a mobile platform that can easily accommodate a handful of users is perfect for those in that situation who want a powerful, customizable server that can be taken anywhere.

    I run two instances of this software, and getting ready to play with the Raspberry Pi edition. One sits on a server, for friends, family, friends of friends, the other runs on my tablet for the kids when we're out.. Being on the tablet means my non-phone-enabled android devices can still connect to the tab wifi just fine, without cell service, without any wifi hotspot. Perfect.

    That's why.

    Aside, the bigger question, is WHY NOT??
    LDX likes this.
  5. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    I also use it to setup a future server that I will host on my PC (2 GHz, 4 GB ram, HDD). I have 15 Mbps internet and ran a server with this internet and computer before with 256mb of ram and 20 players, no lag. But that was 0.8.1 so idk how it changed. Will I need more ram?
  6. Elmo
    Offline

    Elmo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Posts:
    65
    Minecraft User:
    optrusty
    Oh well its better than consumer class internet
  7. Dutok
    Offline

    Dutok Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    371
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    Dutok
    4G is usually equal to or worse than (USA) in-home internet.
    jojoe77777 likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Advertisement