Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question When will LevelDB 0.9.0/0.1.0 maps supported?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by RekkuzaRage, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. RekkuzaRage
    Offline

    RekkuzaRage Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    251
    Minecraft User:
    RekkuzaRage
    I have been waiting patiently 3 months for LevelDB format support on PocketMine. I have not seen progress map support for LevelDB in the past couple of months. I know programming can be difficult so it can take a while. I am also aware that @shoghicp thought that 0.9.0 worlds were going to use Minecraft PC world formats so he implemented that, but Mojang used LevelDB, that is why PC maps are supported and not PE maps. I am just wondering when will LevelDB be implemented into PocketMine.
  2. xFlare
    Offline

    xFlare Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    199
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    xFlare
    Well @shoghicp is fixing pocket mine bugs non-stop. My guess is they will come before mobs and minecarts are implemented. So maybe in 500 years.
  3. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    Any news on this?
    hoyinm14mc and RekkuzaRage like this.
  4. Falk
    Offline

    Falk Staff Member Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,706
    Plugins:
    22
    Minecraft User:
    Falkirknh
    They are supported experimentally on Linux.
    hoyinm14mc and RekkuzaRage like this.
  5. RekkuzaRage
    Offline

    RekkuzaRage Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    251
    Minecraft User:
    RekkuzaRage
    It uses a lot of ram too, so it ends up crashing after a minute or two. I tested it on Ubuntu Server. It is also supports only certain Linux operating systems like Ubuntu Server. You also need the latest GCC and G++ compilers. It will be probably a while until it is stable and running on other operating systems.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
  6. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    Thank you for the information. This is a killer for me and there is no way I can spare the hundreds of hours required to remake them. Can anyone help me with a few conversions please?
  7. Praxthisnovcht
    Offline

    Praxthisnovcht Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Posts:
    699
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    PraxHellTag
    it is to recover your worlds of your server in 0.8.1?
    Mcedit can do
  8. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    I have maps on my device that I want to run on a 1.4 server.
  9. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    well thats most of us did ... how about this, launch your 0.8.1 server, use the old api simpleworlds and export your maps as 0.8.1 version worlds and put these maps to your 0.10.* mcpe app and open it to convert it to leveldb and problem solved. the only problem is to wait for pocketmine to stabilize leveldb performance.

    otherwise its safe to put these map on a server if ur system supports leveldb requirements.
  10. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    I thought I was unable to load 0.10 worlds in to pmmp 1.4?
  11. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    you cant unless you follow the steps i shared above.
  12. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    Thank you all. I am sure I will be back for more help once I have messed it up.
  13. DrbeastOfficial
    Offline

    DrbeastOfficial New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Minecraft User:
    Drbeastproject
    Gust convert the mcpe maps to PC format and use them as PC format
  14. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    How? :D
  15. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
  16. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    oh

    Thanks
  17. loginphp
    Offline

    loginphp Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    75
    Minecraft User:
    loginphp
    Fat chance.

    Shog is very busy with the Mojang team now. I feel pretty confident now that we'll never see LevelDB support, fully functional mobs and minecarts - the biggest parts of the Minecraft experience - all missing from Pocketmine.

    Can you just imagine him at his new job and how much he's enjoying it, AND imagine him having time to FULLY support Pocketmine as well? Not gonna happen. I don't blame him, I would take a job at Minecraft in a heartbeat! However, it is what it is and this is what it has to come to.


    Now let that sink in for just a minute.
  18. Gamecrafter
    Offline

    Gamecrafter

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Posts:
    978
    Plugins:
    9
    @shoghicp can handle both jobs. But working for Mojang he will code in Java, and they hired him for his networking skills.
  19. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    754
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    While he was hired because of his networking skills and his knowledge of the MCPE protocol, he isn't coding in Java. Java is only used in the PC version of Minecraft. MCPE is coded in C++.
    PEMapModder likes this.
  20. DopeteK
    Offline

    DopeteK Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    393
    Minecraft User:
    DTeK
    Great........... So that's the end of pocket mine then right?

Share This Page

Advertisement