Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question When is the official release of 1.4?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by Robert Smyth, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Ok, i'm sorry to ask this I bet loads of other people have pestered you all but when is the new update for pocketmine 1.4 going to be released? The official stable one, which detects old worlds? I really have been paitent but I am starting to get restless people have lost contact with me as everyone is on 0.9.0. And someone mentioned that the new API with be backwards compatible with the old one... correct me if i'm wrong. My conclusion: How much more longer till the stable finished release of Pocketmine-MP 1.4?
  2. the mine-crafting crafter
    Offline

    the mine-crafting crafter Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    102
    Minecraft User:
    the_ender_creep
    It depends how hard they are working really
    Robert Smyth likes this.
  3. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Yeah, I guess
  4. Tuff
    Offline

    Tuff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    203
    Minecraft User:
    Roboroug2
    The new api is certainly not backwards compatible with old api plugins. I don't doubt that there is a way to convert the old, limited world's into 0.9 world's, that feature is just not available yet. The latest version of Pocketmine is joinable if the client has 0.9.4 installed, that's not to say it isn't really buggy still. The ball is not in Pocketmine court really either, mojang still has a lot of things that need fixing on their end. And it's also good to keep in mind that the developers (usually) have lives outside of Pocketmine development, it's not like this is their job.
  5. Dinokiller
    Offline

    Dinokiller Notable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Posts:
    376
    Minecraft User:
    Dinokiller_
    It bugs me that Mojang released the update when it wasn't stable enough. Who cares how long it takes. It's better to wait then get this.
    Tuff, Praxthisnovcht and LDX like this.
  6. LDX
    Offline

    LDX Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,397
    Plugins:
    14
    I felt the same way. If people wouldn't bug Mojang and ask them "how long untill u relees th nu mcep updeta ? ? 7" every three and a half minutes, the updates might be decent.
  7. Elmo
    Offline

    Elmo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Posts:
    65
    Minecraft User:
    optrusty
    2 Years maybe XD just kidding It depends but they dont do it with magic
  8. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Sorry, I was getting desperate
  9. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Ok, what i am saying is that the console, when starting the server says: loading level 'Red vs Blue'. It successfully loads. When i connect, I get a simple 0.9.0 survival world. Really?!?! It baffles me (BTW I tried beta release of 1.4 in seperate folder. To me it seems like a client problem, maybe a cheap cached world. I guess all we can do is wait...
  10. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    350
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    I say another month until we are really where we need to be.
  11. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Ok :) And thanks to EVERYONE! You all make everyone's day, by coding amazing servers with all your effort and publish them at no cost. You guys are amazing! :D :D :D
  12. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    754
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    PocketMine loads worlds in the Anvil format, which is the one used in PC version. @shoghicp started working on this long before Mojang gave any information about the LevelDB format (what MCPE 0.9.0 infinite worlds use). The old 0.8.1 limited worlds use a different format from the other two as well, and PocketMine 1.3 used a pmf format different from the other three. There is a detailed tutorial on how to convert PocketMine 1.3 worlds, as well as 0.8.1 worlds, to the new Anvil format in the Help section, but currently, there isn't anything for the new 0.9.0 infinite worlds format.
  13. Robert Smyth
    Offline

    Robert Smyth New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    Minecraft User:
    Rob_Smyth
    Ok. Thanks for the explaination, very clear :)
    Darunia18 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement