Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

protocol and release versions

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by HotPepperDaddy, Nov 14, 2014.

  1. HotPepperDaddy
    Offline

    HotPepperDaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Minecraft User:
    HotPepperDaddy
    Ok, I'm running my server from the git repo and have some questions.

    Are the various releases (alpha/beta/dev) all made from the master branch and just tagged in a linear fashion?

    Does the head of the master branch support all of the client protocols or just the latest? I'm guessing 0.10.0 is protocol 20, 0.9.5 is 18?

    My MCPE is 0.9.5 alpha. I'm getting the "logged out due to Incorrect protocol" error and the server says it's 20 (src/pocketmine/network/protocol/Info.php, CURRENT_PROTOCOL = 20).

    I guess my next questions depend on the answers to those...

    Thanks.
  2. HotPepperDaddy
    Offline

    HotPepperDaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Minecraft User:
    HotPepperDaddy
    I had a chance to take a closer look in the repo. Master branch, tagged releases. Cool. I see the protocol bumped from 18 -> 19 -> 20 with no obvious associated changes to I just set the protocol on my checkout to 18 until I get the 0.10.0 client.
  3. Exxarion
    Offline

    Exxarion Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    242
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    Notch
  4. HotPepperDaddy
    Offline

    HotPepperDaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Minecraft User:
    HotPepperDaddy
    Nice. What about the scenario with 0.10.0 server and 0.9.5 clients? This probably isn't a big issue as PE 0.10.0 is about to be relased (I don't have it yet BTW).
  5. DovahDoVolom
    Offline

    DovahDoVolom Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Minecraft User:
    DovahDoVolom
    Well 0.10.0 was already released to Apple (which I assume u have) and it has been submitted and is now awaiting approval.
  6. LDX
    Offline

    LDX Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,397
    Plugins:
    14
    Use beta build #822.
  7. HotPepperDaddy
    Offline

    HotPepperDaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Minecraft User:
    HotPepperDaddy
    Android here, all devices. Yep, I've also been using 822. I'd just rather work with the trunk... still getting up to speed here too wrt development and how pm/mcpe work.

    This is a cool project (pocketmine). It reminds me of when I was heavy into MUDs and mudlib development.
  8. DovahDoVolom
    Offline

    DovahDoVolom Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Minecraft User:
    DovahDoVolom
    Oh if you have android join the neya test group with the same account you have purchased MCPE. There will be a beta link in the community discription.
  9. HotPepperDaddy
    Offline

    HotPepperDaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    23
    Minecraft User:
    HotPepperDaddy
    Thanks, I saw the group earlier and the link to beta was dead. Either has something to do with my account or because they're releasing it but I'll try again.
    DovahDoVolom likes this.
  10. GhostProVn
    Offline

    GhostProVn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    Ghost
    But I use iOS with terminal , when I log was disconnect because protocol #20
  11. iksaku
    Offline

    iksaku Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,130
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iksaku
    Hahahaha good joke :3
    PocketMine-MP will not be in the AppStore, there's a post when tons of people (including me) explain why it will not
    The version on Cydia is outdated, it's for MCPE 0.9.x, and doesn't work for 0.10.x+... There's also a post explaining why it isn't updated yet
    Kareems likes this.
  12. vertx
    Offline

    vertx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Minecraft User:
    Vertx
    "...I'm running my server from the git repo..."

    is it possible? o_O
  13. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Why not?
  14. vertx
    Offline

    vertx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Minecraft User:
    Vertx
    Just asking... I didn't know this, probally is better than run on Android Phone... I made this for months without know about the possibility to run PM-MP from git repo :p
  15. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    What exactly do you mean by running from git repo?
  16. vertx
    Offline

    vertx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    Minecraft User:
    Vertx
    Nothing, :p forget, i misread the post, i understood the guy is running the server trough git repo, :p sorry, english is not my native language

Share This Page

Advertisement