Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PocketMine 1.4 on older devices?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by Greenwave_1, May 27, 2014.

  1. Greenwave_1
    Offline

    Greenwave_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    Greenwave_1
    When 0.9 rolls around, I am going to start a server, but I have a number of friends who have outdated devices. How would the infinite world generation affect older devices, such as the iPod 4th generation?
  2. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    it would lag i assume :p but the generation part would be in the server not the device itself.
    Darunia18 and Dinokiller like this.
  3. Greenwave_1
    Offline

    Greenwave_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    Greenwave_1
    Makes sense, just was not sure. As long as the client does not have to load the world like now, it should work. Thanks!
    iJoshuaHD likes this.
  4. Dinokiller
    Offline

    Dinokiller Notable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Posts:
    376
    Minecraft User:
    Dinokiller_
    Infinite worlds are optional. At least they are in the client anyway.
    Darunia18 likes this.
  5. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    754
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    Moved to General Discussion.
  6. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    754
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    Anyways, as far as servers go, I don't think it would affect the client, but I could be wrong. There is no way of knowing for sure until the betas start. We have been told that infinite worlds will not be available for PE Realms, so this may be either because older devices will lag/crash, or because they don't want to use up that much space on your Realms server files.
  7. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    space probably. thats why pocketmine is much more better :p
  8. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    754
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    I hope that's what it is, because if not, then things are going to be bad :/ I think the reason why it lags though is because instead of loading and unloading chunks as you use them, it just loads the chunks that are around you/as you explore, and then never unloads them, at least that's the impression I got.

Share This Page

Advertisement