Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[New API] Help with saving player scores

Comments in 'Plugin Development' started by The_Marcster, Aug 31, 2014.

1. The_Marcster

The_Marcster New Member

Minecraft User:
    The_Marcster_PE
    I just started programming with PocketMine and want to develop a plugin. The plugin should be able to save values for every player, like scoreboards in MCPC, where you have different objectives and every player has a score in every objective. It would be nice, if anybody could write me some example code of how to save multiple scores for every player. I've seen, that you can use config files, but because I haven't found any good tutorial for the new API, so maybe someone can explain that.
    Thanks in advance :)
  2. PEMapModder

PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

Plugins:
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    If you want to save simple key-value sets (player name converted to lowercase as key, score as value), there are three methods.
    1. Using the config class. Create a Config object with
    PHP:
    $this->scores = new Config($this->getDataFolder()."scores.yml");
    . Every time you want to read from the file,
    PHP:
    $this->scores->get(strtolower($playerName))
    should return the data you save in the config about the player. If the player doesn't have data in the config, this function call should return false. If you want to insert/replace a player's score into the config, you use
    PHP:
    $this->scores->set(strtolower($playerName), $score);