Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Minecraft and PocketMine server

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by hps1076, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. hps1076
    Offline

    hps1076 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    We have minecraft server running at a primary school and need to setup something for students with iPads. Anyone set up a minecraft server and a Pocketmine server on the same server? any advice would be great! OS is ubuntu 14.04. server, server currently runs opensim and minecraft server fine.
  2. hoyinm14mc
    Offline

    hoyinm14mc Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Posts:
    501
    Plugins:
    9
    Minecraft User:
    hoyinm14mc
    What do you mean?
  3. hps1076
    Offline

    hps1076 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Ok, we have a minecraft server on a server for students to connect to from netbooks, it works. We would like to install pocketmine server for students to acces a pocketmine server from their iPads because the minecraft iPad app can not connect to our minecraft server. I don't want to break the current server setup and would like to hear from anyone that has tried this.
  4. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    There won't be conflicts as one is TCP and one is UDP. And as long as your processor and network can afford it, there shouldn't be problems (unless the PocketMine query port is set to the same as Minecraft server port).
    Why not test it yourself?
    iksaku and hps1076 like this.
  5. hps1076
    Offline

    hps1076 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for the response. Agreed, they have different ports, didn't realize different protocols. Reason for not testing is about 200 students use the current server through the week and although they are under 12 they can be vocal when opensim or minecraft are not accessable. I have installed other software with unrecoverable failures so don't like using this one for a try and see what happens! Server has 32G ram 16 core 2xXeons and Gb network seems to manage under 40 users OK, haven't had more online at the same time to see what more the server will handle. Thanks for confirming that it should be OK, I have another server setup the same at home I'll be testing over the weekend before installing on the production server. I'll post outcome!
    hoyinm14mc and SJP like this.
  6. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Since they are at completely different ports, I don't think anything will happen until you install on production server and probably face lag.
    iksaku likes this.
  7. iksaku
    Offline

    iksaku Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,130
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iksaku
    Just keep in mind that PocketMine-MP isn't stable at all, so you may wish to take care of the amount of players :p
    PEMapModder likes this.
  8. aliuly
    Offline

    aliuly Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Posts:
    1,086
    Plugins:
    17
    I saw somewhere a plugin for PocketMine called "BigBrother" which allows Minecraft PC clients to play in a Pocket Mine world.
  9. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    I believe it's outdated.
    iksaku likes this.
  10. iksaku
    Offline

    iksaku Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,130
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iksaku
    Not at all, but it causes extreme lag un the server :/
  11. Exxarion
    Offline

    Exxarion Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    242
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    Notch
    Its not, but it has its own issues.
  12. jython234
    Offline

    jython234 Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    324
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    jython234
    Not really, I'm able to play with 2 PE clients and one PC client (me). For some reason shoghi didn't add block break or build support. So BigBrother becomes BigSpectator. Oh and i'm running on a Raspberry Pi 2 with 256MB of RAM allocated for PHP.
    Samueljh1 and hoyinm14mc like this.
  13. Samueljh1
    Offline

    Samueljh1 Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Posts:
    316
    Plugins:
    5
    Minecraft User:
    Samueljh1_
    And the bugs are unreal

Share This Page

Advertisement