Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

max-chunks has to be >= 74?

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by b3builder, Apr 4, 2015.

  1. b3builder
    Offline

    b3builder Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    b3builder
    Hey,

    I've been battling a problem with "corrupt user profiles" for some time. It happens rarely, but often enough to cause a problem. I recently managed grabbing a case and cleaning it up to recreate the problem and it seems that setting max-chunks too low causes it.

    Here's how to recreate it:

    wget -q -O - http://get.pocketmine.net/ | bash -s - -v development
    ./start
    {all default settings}
    cd players
    wget http://leet.cc/crashes/xaxtraxtax.dat
    cd ..
    ./start

    Log in to server with username "Xaxtraxtax". It takes some time as the server has to generate a fairly large map. But eventually it works.

    Now, go into pocketmine.yml and change: "max-chunks: 256" to " max-chunks: 64". Then try logging back into the server with the same username. Now it doesn't work. You end up in an endless loading screen.

    It proves (at least on my system) that the cut-off on "max-chunks" is that you can't log in if max-chunks is lower than 73 or 74 but you can log in if max-chunks is larger than 73 or 74. I think the actual cut-off depends on available memory but haven't had a chance to confirm.

    I hope someone finds this helpful. I've struggled a lot with figuring out why sometimes some random users couldn't log in.

    Anyone have any idea why setting max-chunks too low would make users unable of logging in?

    /b3
  2. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Corrupted user profile - meaning when a player is logged on it looks as 8f they were stuck in the void?
  3. b3builder
    Offline

    b3builder Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    b3builder
    No, it gets stuck on the 95% of the "loading server" screen.
  4. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Yeah that and this. When I was stuck in the "void" no chunks would load and when I try to attempt to log on it would get stuck on about 95% on building terrain loading screen most of the time.
  5. icsmoke
    Offline

    icsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Minecraft User:
    icsmoke
    use default setting "256" :D
  6. b3builder
    Offline

    b3builder Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    66
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    b3builder
    I could, but I want to keep it low to get down resource usage. I mainly wanted to share in case someone else was having the same issue.
  7. lostlogik
    Offline

    lostlogik New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Strange but I ran 50 without the problem arising.
  8. icsmoke
    Offline

    icsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Minecraft User:
    icsmoke
    On 1.5 or 1.4?
  9. lostlogik
    Offline

    lostlogik New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    In 1.4.
  10. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Notable people I know on many servers are facing this problems. Heard the solution is to delete player profiles...
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  11. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,306
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    ?
    HotFireyDeath and iJoshuaHD like this.
  12. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,196
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    lol wut
  13. icsmoke
    Offline

    icsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Minecraft User:
    icsmoke
    what the.. infected minigames on legion? :3
  14. HotFireyDeath
    Offline

    HotFireyDeath Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    328
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    HotFireyDeath
    no. just ... no.
  15. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    People on kik are complaining l8ke mad dogs lel.


    Its a secret glitch implemented by the illuminati so that minecraft pe gets depopularzed and so they could continue their secret underground regime of ruling the world without mcpe multiplayer and it's economic while smoking weed in their lairs of hell...
    Legoboy0215 and PEMapModder like this.
  16. icsmoke
    Offline

    icsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Minecraft User:
    icsmoke
    I was tried to change to 74. but, ussualy my server was crashed cause EventChunk or fullChunk :( anyone can help me?
  17. shoghicp
    Offline

    shoghicp Staff Member PocketMine Team

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    433
    Plugins:
    14
    Minecraft User:
    shoghicp
    This has been fixed in MCPE 0.11 :)
    Xenturio, b3builder and HotFireyDeath like this.
  18. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    But seems to be if you due somewhat sporratic like dying while jumping or dying on a half slab you respawnwith no chunks loaded and your screen heavily bobbing.
  19. Xenturio
    Offline

    Xenturio Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    333
    Minecraft User:
    Xenturio
    u can only rescue the player file (and inventory) if u use an nbt editor.

    isOnGround = all the time "1"
    AIR = 300
    health = 20

    and if its doesnt work change the position from player by POS

    then the player can connect again to your server
  20. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,306
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Or just simply delete it.
    Goerick likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement