Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Existing worlds and 0.9.0

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by tnpxxsheepdog, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    Just a quick question, I am actually interested in how this works, will we be able to convert our existing worlds into 1.4 to work with infinite. I asked this question long ago but never got a clear answer. I feel now since 1.4 is out (still being worked on obviously).

    How would this work? I can imagine that the world borders can become a bit messy!
  2. swagboy47
    Offline

    swagboy47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Posts:
    445
    Minecraft User:
    swagking
    nope mojang said that all the worlds in 8.1 well not work in 0.9.0
  3. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    Is there a link you can provide to where they said this? I follow their twitter closely and never saw anything about it, which is also why I am asking in the first place.
  4. Darunia18
    Offline

    Darunia18 Staff Member Sectional Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    755
    Plugins:
    2
    Minecraft User:
    Darunia18
    Nope. All 0.8.1 worlds will work in 0.9.0 and above. I'm not sure if they said that they could be changed into infinite worlds though, but last I heard they said that they were working on a way to change them into infinite, but when you do so, it'll generate an infinite world using the old world generator. I'm not sure about PocketMine and it's capabilities are, though. You'd have to ask @shoghicp on that one.
    PEMapModder and tnpxxsheepdog like this.
  5. RekkuzaRage
    Offline

    RekkuzaRage Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Posts:
    251
    Minecraft User:
    RekkuzaRage
    I'll have to create a new map for my server.....It would be great, if you could convert 0.8.1 worlds into 0.9.0 worlds with the new terrain generator.
  6. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    Heck, infinite worlds are so awesome, I could care less about the current maps I have. We spent A LOT of time on them but I would rather have infinite worlds.
    RekkuzaRage likes this.
  7. shoghicp
    Offline

    shoghicp Staff Member PocketMine Team

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    433
    Plugins:
    14
    Minecraft User:
    shoghicp
    They will be converted, but be aware that there will be chunk changes on the border
    Darunia18 and tnpxxsheepdog like this.
  8. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    Gotcha, that makes sense!
  9. Lambo
    Offline

    Lambo Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    431
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    Lambo
    I heard that 0.8.1 worlds will still work on 0.9.0, but converting the worlds to infinite will be in a later version.
  10. tnpxxsheepdog
    Offline

    tnpxxsheepdog Notable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Posts:
    354
    Minecraft User:
    TNPXXSHEEPDOG
    That is actually perfect for my needs then.
  11. swagboy47
    Offline

    swagboy47 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Posts:
    445
    Minecraft User:
    swagking
    i read on google+ that you need to backup your maps i think they said that so you dont loose them when you update to 0.9.0 but i am not sure what they are talking about
  12. Lambo
    Offline

    Lambo Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    431
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    Lambo
    They were talking about people that are beta testing that they should backup they're maps just incase something goes wrong.
    PEMapModder and tnpxxsheepdog like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement