Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Experimental Automatic Server Restarter 2.0.2

This Plugin Restarts your Server at a given Interval.

  1. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    yup
  2. Bublz_654
    Offline

    Bublz_654 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    120
    Just a suggestion. Could u set the notification interval like every 5 minutes or let the user select the interval for the notifications
  3. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    ill see about it
  4. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    Why does this need MySQL? You should use flatfiles, there is no reason why you should need MySQL in this.
  5. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    In a matter of fact, there is. The feature thats using MySQL can be disabled and it's disabled as default. This plugin doesnt require MySQL otherwise. Read the update if you dont know whats the feature.
  6. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    And why does server logging need MySQL? You can do this using flatfiles...
  7. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    what if i want the PocketMine PID updated through my website?
  8. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    Could you point me to the location in your code in which you can UPDATE the PID? Cause I sure as hell don't see it.

    And if by "updated" you mean simply displaying the PID on your website, then this can also be done using flatfiles. I assume your website and PM server is on the same box. Simply get the contents of the file if needed, either way it's not a very good reason to require MySQL for something so simple.
  9. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    check ASR github link i provided.
    what if my server is not hosted on the same box?
  10. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    I already did, you never update the pid. You simply store it.

    We could go into the discussion "why you shouldn't do remote MySQL". And it still can be done using flatfiles, you just have to approach it from a different standpoint.
  11. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    it updates the PID onEnable(). all i need is PID and timestamp.
    tell me how would you deal with flatfiles accessible on remote servers easily without exaggerated or complicated methods? i know it could be done flatfiles, its just i approach it via mysql database method and its just easier to get the data. if you dont like my method, just make a pull request or just ignore it.

    it doesnt force you to use it anyways.
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2015
  12. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
  13. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    you clearly just blindly look the source code without knowing its sources. theres 2 more classes instead of the Loader and you forgot to check them out.
    some references:
    https://github.com/iJoshuaHD/ASR/blob/master/src/iJoshuaHD/iMCPE/ASR/Loader.php#L199
    -> update timestamp: https://github.com/iJoshuaHD/ASR/blob/master/src/iJoshuaHD/iMCPE/ASR/Loader.php#L112

    ... and PID part: https://github.com/iJoshuaHD/ASR/blob/master/src/iJoshuaHD/iMCPE/ASR/Database.php#L46-L77
  14. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
  15. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    the mechanism is to get the new PID of the PocketMine server everytime it starts. if theres no old data from the database, i insert a new one otherwise it just updates the new PID to the database. you dont make any sense at all.
  16. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    You are communicating your features in a misleading way.

    You do not update the PID as in actually changing the PID the PM is using, instead you store a String representing the name of the PID in the MySQL database. You never update the PID. Get it? It's a pretty unnecessary feature to require MySQL for.
  17. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    its obvious you can not change the PID of a running PocketMine server. And its not an unnecessary feature, why? because some of us use this feature with ASR Screen Listener to check server uptime if i the server console freezes or not. ASR updates the timestamp per minute in order for ASR Screen Listener to know if the server is still running or not. Dont ask again why i still use MySQL for this because its my choice of data saving.
  18. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    what? didnt you understand my plugin update note?
    may i ask whats misleading with that?
  19. ProjectInfinity
    Offline

    ProjectInfinity Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    112
    Plugins:
    3
    Minecraft User:
    ProjectInfinity
    You're misleadingly communicating it, maybe not in the update notes. But whenever you talk about the feature you are misleading people, be consistent.
  20. iJoshuaHD
    Offline

    iJoshuaHD Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,167
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iJoshuaHD
    then this proves what you are arguing now is not relevant to the problem your are arguing with PIDs and stuff.
    english is not my first language and still learning to be consistent.
    codmadnesspro likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement