Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scoller Popup

Comments in 'Plugin Development' started by GamesLoad, May 31, 2015.

  1. BorbingoBoy
    Offline

    BorbingoBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Minecraft User:
    BorbingoBoy
    Thank you for the code, but I saw the MOTD on your servers. You should backup the plugin and start it using somewhere in the future because it is not scrolling to anyone else accept you (because local Wi-Fi mode refreshes about every tick, but in non-local servers there is no automatic refreshing yet).
  2. Samueljh1
    Offline

    Samueljh1 Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Posts:
    316
    Plugins:
    5
    Minecraft User:
    Samueljh1_
    No prob, but it does seem to work . my other server, (play.samueljh1.net:19132) has this, and the motd scrolls on my s4 mini, but not on my iPhone 5s. Both servers are external.
  3. Legoboy0215
    Offline

    Legoboy0215 Notable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,724
    Minecraft User:
    Legoboy0215
    I heard that Server::getInstance() is a bad practice? Or it isn't here?
  4. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    It is everywhere, except for some special places where it is too advanced to us to understand.
  5. Legoboy0215
    Offline

    Legoboy0215 Notable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,724
    Minecraft User:
    Legoboy0215
    So is it right? I want to learn...
  6. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Since we are not advanced enough to understand, assume that we never need to use Server::getInstance().
    Legoboy0215 likes this.
  7. Samueljh1
    Offline

    Samueljh1 Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Posts:
    316
    Plugins:
    5
    Minecraft User:
    Samueljh1_
    I don't really see why its bad practice. If you want just replace it with
    PHP:
     $this->getServer();
    Dont tell me that's bad practice too ._.
  8. PEMapModder
    Offline

    PEMapModder Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    7,294
    Plugins:
    11
    Minecraft User:
    PEMapModder
    Yes $this->getServer() isn't bad practice.

    Server::getInstance() is a bad practice because it uses a method that involves using static object properties, and in PHP as of the version PocketMine uses, it is buggy.
  9. GamesLoad
    Offline

    GamesLoad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Minecraft User:
    GamesLoad

Share This Page

Advertisement