Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Importance on hardware memory

Comments in 'General Discussion' started by Goerick, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    These days I see those junkies who spend their days emptying their wallets on more ram.

    But the thing is, pocketmine doesn't use much ram.

    I had 70/70 on very big pc ported maps. You know what the ram usage was? 800 megabytes.

    So there is no need for huge amount of ram like 8 gb, 16gb, and I've seen even people using 64 gb.

    Also if your going to buy so much ram or rent it make sure it's DDR3 as that is the latest ram. Of your using DDR2 ram then "lol" for you!


    Also I noticed people cranking all of this and forgetting about the memory. By this I mean they use hard disk drives. Yes most people are running overloading production servers on a technology made 60 years ago. No. Don't do that.

    Instead of spending money on ram get a ssd with the latest SATA (data transfer rate) and I promise you it will improve your server 100 x and 1000 x more than buying more sticks of ram that pocketmine will never utilizse. Ssd helps alot especially on plugins that have a database or map loading ALOT.

    Also one more thing to say.

    We all know how awful pocketmine distribute cores, using one and having minimum use on the rest. But these days people think, more cores is better!
    NO

    Instead of getting a turkey defrosting neutron emitting AMD processor go with a intel and make sure it has High ghz PER CORE. A intel processor xeon let's say with 8 cores at 2.4 ghz each core will perform less than a intel processor i5 with 3.1 ghz. This is because no matter if you turn on multithread setting, pocketmine loves to use 1 core so use that as a money saving advantage (a intel i5 wis much cheaper than a xeon and make sure you Buy a HASWELL type processor)

    That's my 2 cents

    Critique me now lol
    TigerHix, iksaku, PixelGuy75 and 5 others like this.
  2. shoghicp
    Offline

    shoghicp Staff Member PocketMine Team

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    433
    Plugins:
    14
    Minecraft User:
    shoghicp
    And it's true :)

    Grab FAST memory but not lots of it, get FAST disk (SSDs) to reduce world load times, and prefer core frequency over core number. This is not your usual web application.
    Legoboy0215, TigerHix, iksaku and 6 others like this.
  3. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    I recommend samsung ssd as its the fastest on the market currenlty.
    EvolSoft and DunxandMinecraft like this.
  4. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    The problem is not the RAM. The problem is that PHP 5 interprets code at runtime instead of compiling it to machine code. Languages like C, FreeBasic, ... compile the code to machine code and the output executable is directly loaded on memory (in case of FreeBasic the assembler is GNU ASM). Then PHP 5 has still some functions which aren't cleaned up and optimized. File I/O with PHP 5 for example is much more slower than Java or C#.
    PHP 7 should be much more fastest with the internal JIT (it will solve lots of CPU issues)
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  5. EvolSoft
    Offline

    EvolSoft Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Plugins:
    15
    Minecraft User:
    Flavius12
    I too. They are the first who made a SSD with 1TB of space :D
  6. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    DDR4 is currently the newest ram, in fact I think there's already DDR5 in high end servers.
  7. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Due to the complication and price, DDR5 is used in Graphic Cards.

    DDR4 is too new and expensive to be used in production servers. Maybe 1-3 years we will see common use of DDR4 RAM
  8. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Edited my previous post. D*** Auto Correct.
    LDX likes this.
  9. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    Samsung Galaxy s6 comes with 3GB of DDR4 ram... most custom builds of computers are DDR4
  10. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    I yet to see a stock factory laptop with DDR4 ram, let alone ddr5.
  11. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    DDR4 ram is about $20 more expensive than DDR3 ram for 8GB on Newegg.com
  12. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    Ram would actually help if you use Samsung's RAPID technology, which can double your SSD speed (540 ---> 1200 Mbps) by using ram as chache.
  13. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Yeah but would you need 16 gb of unessesary ram. That money could be used in buying a SSD. I'm trying to be economical.
  14. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    Alright, cool.
  15. SuperChipsLP
    Offline

    SuperChipsLP Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Plugins:
    5
    Minecraft User:
    Redmol
    Also make sure to be on a good network connection.

    Slow internet speeds slow down packet transfer with many players.
    Lag is the result.
    luca28pet and iksaku like this.
  16. TonyDroide
    Offline

    TonyDroide Active Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Posts:
    122
    Plugins:
    1
    Minecraft User:
    TonyDroidd
    grab fast
  17. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    Actually even 5mbps would be good for like 100 players, as long as its fiber optic for super low latency and packet loss.
  18. iksaku
    Offline

    iksaku Notable Member Plugin Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1,130
    Plugins:
    4
    Minecraft User:
    iksaku
    Also, it's important to Highlight that the server is just one side in Multiplayer experience, the other side resides in each player, if they have a slow Device or a slow internet connection, then the results will not look "OK" for them :p
    Striker209_MPE likes this.
  19. Andrey Nazarchuk
    Offline

    Andrey Nazarchuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Minecraft User:
    digita1eclipse
    True. That's why a network of hosts across the globe is better, lower latency for everyone.
    DunxandMinecraft likes this.
  20. Goerick
    Offline

    Goerick Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Posts:
    250
    Minecraft User:
    goerick
    Exactly.

    Use a LAN aka ethernet cable instead of wifi.

Share This Page

Advertisement